Where do I start?

It definitely has been a long time since we posted anything. I guess Nick and I weren’t able to give you all a low down on what happened. This would entail a couple of posts so I could stay current with you all. So bear with me.

First things first. Des was at UW for 2.5 months and then was moved to Group Health for another 2 weeks. It was the second day of the second week when we were asked to sleep over at the hospital so we can get the feel of knowing how to take care of Des without any help. Man that 1st night was sooooo hard. It was hard putting him to sleep and he was crying a lot!  We woke up every 3 hours and it wasn’t easy. I mean, I was already waking up every 3 hours to pump anyway but then this time, I had to pump, feed the baby by bottle and then if he couldn’t finish the bottle, he had to take the rest by tube.  Also, Des grunted a lot in his sleep so there wasn’t any sleep at all.

Des Napping

I still the remember the morning after the first night. The doctor came into our room and asked us how our first night was. As soon as he asked that question and looked at our faces he said, “Hmmm rough night huh?”

The boy that won’t sleep

The only place he’d sleep, which will be told on another post

As for the rest of the nights there, we sort of figured things out. For almost 3 months of coming to the NICU everyday paid off since we knew what to do. We just had to get adjusted to the sleeping schedule.

Finally, on our last day there. After the doctor gave Des a visit and said, “You’re one chunky dude!” He told us we could go home. He said that since we’ve had our practice with putting the tube in Desmond’s nose and we’re comfortable with it, then there is no reason to keep Des at the hospital. All Des needs to do is grow grow grow!

So placing Des in his car seat was so surreal to us. We were actually going to take our baby home! Oh my goodness! It’s real! We get to take him home!!!

Des’ first car ride headed for home. June 28th, 2012

Desmond Marcelo Hayes was born on April 6th, 2012. We were able to bring him home on June 28th, 2012. God is a good God. He has heard our prayers. We have our baby home and we are sooo happy. I can’t wait to tell you guys about the adventures he’s been going on.

I shall be back!

MamaPandesal

3 thoughts on “Where do I start?

  1. It has been quiet a journey but it’s so wonderful you have your little miracle boy at home with you. We share your joy. Thank you for the updates. Its wonderful to see him coming out with our kiddos. Love you guys.

  2. It was wonderful to see you at church on Sunday!! Thanks for the updates. I look forward to hearing about Des’ adventures!!!

Leave a comment